Michigan Sports Hall of Fame

  Michigan Sports Hall of Fame


Frankling Dean "Muddy" Waters

Won four football letters at Michigan State University in 1946-50. Coached football for four decades in Michigan winning Coach of the Year honors eight times. Compiled an overall collegiate coaching record of 171-86-7, with a .637 winning percentage. Began coaching career in 1950 at Walled Lake High School and Albion High School before becoming athletic director and coach at Hillsdale College in 1953. Built Hillsdale into perennial powerhouse that produced a 138-45-6 record and seven Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association championships including a 34-game winning streak. Named National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Coach of the Year in 1957 and member of the NAIA Hall of Fame. Started football program at Saginaw Valley State University and was athletic director and football coach six year. Head coach three years at Michigan State University. Inducted into the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame in 1992.

Michigan Sports Hall of Fame Sustaining PartnersMid-American ConferenceMichigan State UniversityUniversity of MichiganDetroit TigersDetroit LionsDetroit Red WingsDetroit Pistons

Copyright © 2015   Michigan Sports Hall Of Fame